Players 2,407 367
Sylestia Pet Data
Category Total Yesterday
Pets 8,242,961 1,762
Generated 656,182 12
Captured 1,190,474 65
Bred 6,396,210 1,685
Statistics updated daily at midnight
Forum Index > Pet Sharing and Design Discussion > Design Critique?
Page 1  
Author Thread Post
Whitecobra
Level 61
The Kind-Hearted
Threads: 54
Posted: 7/7/2020 at 3:43 AM Post #1
Yo I'm a bored human and really want to improve design. Please give critique!

(I should specify that this is for fun and not for anything sylestian related. I just want to understand colours and design.)

Next One I need Critiquing:

Old Ones (feel free to critique these too if you feel something needs to be added):

Original
Edited By Lpscat120 on 7/9/2020 at 4:39 PM.
Flute
Level 70
Enchanted Explorer
Threads: 340
Posted: 7/8/2020 at 4:25 AM Post #2
I'll give it a shot! c: I'm by no means a great designer (on Sylestia or otherwise lol), but I like digging into why I like certain designs over others.

1. Wings and Contrast
I like the scheme you have between the dark black and the neon, toxic green. They stand well against each other, which I call contrast: the mane (EC and G2) and the rest of the body (C1 mainly).
In comparison, my eyes are drawn to the wings and they do not have the same strong contrast. M2 (the background of the wings) is a faded green-gray, while A1 is a faded-pastel-green. I personally would prefer leaning into that contrast that you had, having a stronger black against a stronger green:

2. Contrast in Tribal Markings
I personally also would lean into having a stronger black for the tribal markings. It's more apparent with the hatchlings because the wings aren't covering up most of the mane, but making that contrast stronger can be striking!

(the wing isn't recolored here because I refreshed the image lol)

3. Great Use of Grays Elsewhere!